No risk, no gain

I’m sure many of you are familiar with the statement in the title. “No risk, no gain” can mean anything. In finance, it basically means if you don’t take a risk and invest in something then there is no potential of profit. In research it means if you don’t risk years of your life researching something unknown then there is no possibility of you discovering something. In our personal lives, the same concept applies. You can’t expect to gain great things just by staying in your comfort zone where the term “risk” does not even exist.

I’m not going to go into the Economics part of it and bore you to death. Neither am I writing this because I like talking about finance in my personal blog. I have a few decisions to make and I’m so indecisive at this point that I’d rather sleep all day or even read heaps of books instead. Every decision you make has a risk. I’m sure all of you have been there.

High school students too afraid to accept a college offer in hopes of getting a response from their ideal college, job-seekers declining a position in hopes of getting accepted at their ideal company or even something as simple as declining the guy who just asked you to prom in hopes of your crush asking you to prom. We’ve all been there, where we had to make a decision and take a risk. I’m stuck in one of those situations right now and I’m too afraid to risk it. I don’t know what I’m going to do with my dilemma. But one thing I realized today and thought everyone should know too (maybe you already do), is that don’t take too much time choosing an option. Give yourself a deadline and see that you make a decision before it otherwise you may lose both opportunities at hand.

I have given myself a deadline and I’ll see how it works. “No risk, no gain” does not always mean that if you take a risk you’ll definitely achieve something but mostly, it means that if you don’t take a risk, you won’t make a decision and thus you will be stuck. And therefore, you won’t gain but probably lose something.

Love, love and lots of love

Thing 1

 

Leave a Reply

